Vegan/Dairy-Free Cheese Review

I LOVE CHEESE…

However, there is one problem with that, I have a Milk Intolerance.

There was a time where I would have cheese on as many meals as possible.  At first discovering I had an intolerance to the main food group I consume was a bit of a struggle. So here is a list of the Vegan cheese I have tried and tested, my worst and favourite, creamiest and most plastic.

18600643_10210423555159915_1837005789_nWhen I cut out milk from my diet, I avoided cheese completely. It was difficult having my first cheese-less takeaway pizza. However, after watching some YouTube videos, I decided to invest in some vegan cheese. The first thing I discovered from my experience with Vegan Cheese, it doesn’t melt.  Well, some do more than others, but in general it doesn’t work like your typical mature cheddar. Initially, deterred me from trying many types of cheese. However, I soon discovered that its more adapting your cooking slightly and finding a replacement that works best for you. I found myself making food I had never had before.


Vegusto No-Moo Melty Cheese- £4.99

Texture; 6/10 

Melty-ness; 5/10

Taste; 5/10

I was so excited to order the No-Moo Melty Cheese. This claimed to melt and act like mozzarella. After watching and reading some reviews. I waited until I could afford the shipping which was extremely expensive. Well, more than I see reasonable. From what I discovered, this is not a cheese to buy to replace your standard mature cheddar. This cheese really disappointed me. I found the taste to be very vinegary. However, it worked well as a replacement to mozzarella on pizza.

I probably wont be buying again. I enjoyed this in my pasta and on my pizza, but it was not worth the price. The amount of cheese didn’t go far and shipping was ridiculous. In the future I may try some more of No-Moo cheeses, but they are definitely for regular usage.

Tesco Free From Smoked Cheese; £2.25

18090845_10210193868937903_221857858_oTexture; 7/10

Melty-ness; 6/10

Taste; 7/10

I was reluctant to try Tesco’s own make vegan cheese. My main reason was that I assumed the bigger vegan brands would be better. It’s no secret that cheese in general is pricey, with dairy-free alternatives being far from the exception. So if I was spending around £4 on cheese I was going for the branded versions. However I was wrong. My own stubbornness and slight snobbishness meant I didn’t experience this cheese until recently. To add to how much I enjoyed this cheese, it was only around £2. The amount of cheese may be less than usual but it is by no means expensive.

I have found that this cheese is great when grated onto chips, almost nothing beats chips, beans and cheese. I will definitely be getting more of this, its perfect for toast, pasta, pizza, panini’s, toasties and most cheese uses.

Here I use it to make BBQ Enchiladas.

Vegusto No-Moo Golden Cheese-£4.99

Texture; 6/10

Melty-ness; 3/10

Taste3/10

I am not a fan. I am sorry Vegusto, but this was not for me. Yes, I had high expectations going into this, but when paying £5 plus postage for cheese I was expecting more. The texture is good, similar to milk cheese. However, everything else, lets say, not the best. Like a lot of vegan cheese I have experienced it didn’t melt too well. if at all. Something which I wasn’t expecting was for it to taste and smell like cheesy crisps. At first this was exciting but the novelty quickly wore off.

I wont be getting the Golden Cheese again. I may try some of the other cheese in the No-Moo range as they have some flavoured cheese as well as regular. However, I wont be rushing to get anymore any time soon.

Sainsbury’s Free From Caramelized Onion Cheese; £2.25

Texture; 9/10sainsburys cheese

Melty-ness; 8/10

Taste; 10/10

It is probably noticeable from the ratings but this is my favourite. It is creamy, tasty and most importantly melts. I admit at first I was taken aback by the strong smell, but it works so well as a replacement. I know onion cheese isn’t for everyone, but if you are a lover of extra mature cheese then this texture and creaminess is the closed substitute I’ve found.

My favourite way to have this is on my One Pot Pasta, but I must admit I have just cut some off to eat on it’s own from time to time. I have yet to try the rest of Sainsbury’s new Free From cheese collections, but if they are all like this then I cant wait to try them.

Violife Cheese alternative; £2.30

Texture; 3/10

Melty-ness; 2/10

Taste;5/10

This was the first vegan cheese I ever tried. I know the ratings are bad but honestly I didn’t hate it. It was everything I loved about cheese as a child. This was probably because it reminded me of the little biscuit, cheese and ham lunchables as a kid. The positive and negative with this cheese is it can taste a bit superficial. It has the classic fake cheese taste hat McDonalds has beautifully mastered. A big problem with this is that it doesn’t melt as all. Due to it’s plastic like texture, no matter how it is cut or grated it will stay independent from each other.

I would recommend this for people, who like mild cheese. It would be best on crackers with a chutney or even on burgers. Violife have various types of cheese so I will definitely try more from their range.

Social Media Links

For more pictures of food – Instagram 

For food and living cheep ideas – Pinterest

Leave a comment